Films in 2017: March

March was a very busy month for me at work, but I managed to watch a decent amount movies while also making sure I got enough sleep. I ended up watching a few documentaries this month on FilmStruck (though they were all entertainment-related), and I hope to continue that trend throughout the rest of the year, as the documentary genre is one that I really haven’t seen enough of. I’ve also been enjoying TCM’s new Noir Alley series every Sunday morning, so that constituted most of my re-watches of the month. Anyway, onto all that I watched for the first time in March…

New-to-Me: 21

Re-Watched: 5

New-to-Me Films by Decade:

  • 1920s – 1
  • 1930s – 2
  • 1940s – 4
  • 1950s – 2
  • 1960s – 5
  • 1970s – 1
  • 1980s – 0
  • 1990s – 4
  • 2000s – 0
  • 2010s – 2

List of New-to-Me Films:

  1. Test Pilot (1938)
  2. Get Out (2017)
  3. That Man from Rio (1964)
  4. Umberto D. (1952)
  5. Trader Horn (1931)
  6. Vacation from Marriage (1945)
  7. White Shadows in the South Seas (1928)
  8. The Robe (1953)
  9. Anne of the Thousand Days (1969)
  10. A Personal Journey with Martin Scorsese Through American Movies (1995)
  11. East Side, West Side (1949)
  12. My Reputation (1946)
  13. Enchanted April (1991)
  14. The Celluloid Closet (1995)
  15. Follow Me, Boys! (1966)
  16. Ryan’s Daughter (1970)
  17. The Incredible Journey (1963)
  18. Something Wild (1961)
  19. Madonna: Truth or Dare (1991)
  20. Blithe Spirit (1945)
  21. Beauty and the Beast (2017)

A Few Favorite Discoveries:

Get Out (2017)

Get Out (2017), directed by Jordan Peele

As a fan of Key & Peele on Comedy Central, I was very curious to see Jordan Peele’s directorial debut in the horror genre, and I’m happy to say it lived up to the hype and even exceeded my expectations. Get Out is a brilliant blend of both horror and comedy, ultimately serving as a sharp commentary on today’s social politics. It’s a movie I’ve yet to get out of my head since seeing it, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it still remains a top favorite of 2017 by the end of the year. I can’t wait to see what Peele does next as a director.

That Man from Rio (1964)

That Man from Rio (1964), directed by Philippe de Broca

That Man from Rio was one of the last movies I saw during TCM’s 31 Days of Oscar festival, and it was just a lot of fun to watch. It’s almost like a French spoof of an Indiana Jones movie… just released about two decades before Harrison Ford actually brought that iconic character to the screen (Steven Spielberg reportedly saw it nine times, so perhaps it served as some sort of inspiration for Raiders of the Lost Ark). Nominated for Best Original Screenplay, the film features some great gags, gorgeous location photography, and some fun performances from Françoise Dorléac and Jean-Paul Belmondo (who performed Harold Lloyd-type stunts throughout the film). It’s truly an underrated movie that deserves to be seen by more people.

Anne of the Thousand Days (1969)

Anne of the Thousand Days (1969), directed by Charles Jarrott

TCM’s Star of the Month for March was Richard Burton, and while not one of my top favorite actors, he’s one who’s talents I’ve always admired, and I’ve been slowly going through the films for which he received an Oscar nomination (he received 7 throughout his career, but never won). Anne of the Thousand Days features one of his nominated performances, playing England’s notorious king Henry VIII. This movie actually took me by surprise, as I didn’t expect I’d enjoy it as much as I did. But much of my enjoyment stems from Geneviève Bujold’s performance as the tragic Anne Boleyn. She really created a dimensional character in her portrayal, showing Anne as both strong-willed and fragile, easily matching wits with her husband. Bujold’s impressive performance is how I imagine the real Anne Boleyn to have been like.

Umberto D. (1952)

Umberto D. (1952), directed by Vittorio De Sica

I posted another entry for the 2017 Blind Spots series a few days ago on Umberto D., a great film I discovered on the tail end of TCM’s 31 Days of Oscar festival. My thoughts on the film can be found here.

One thought on “Films in 2017: March

  1. ‘That Man from Rio’ sounds like a fun one…hopefully I can track it down (and I just did..it’s available at my local library, so I’ll pick it up this week!). I’ve only seen one film from your list, which was ‘Umberto D’, and which I really liked.

Leave a Reply

